Jun 06, 2024

The second International Conference on Fluid, Thermal and Energy Systems (ICFTES'24),

The second International Conference on Fluid, Thermal and Energy Systems (ICFTES'24), organized by the Department of Chemical Engineering and the Department of Mechanical Engineering in technical collaboration with the Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering, Stellenbosch University, and in collaboration with the UK National Heat Transfer Committee, the Indian Society of Heat and Mass Transfer-RCT, and the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers was inaugurated on 6th June by Prof. Prasad Krishna, Director, NIT Calicut. The Chief Guest, Prof. Christos N. Markides, Imperial College London delivered a plenary lecture on Next-generation hybrid PV-X technologies for distributed solar polygeneration. Prof. Jaap Hoffmann, Stellenbosch University, South Africa, Dr. K. Haribabu, HOD, Chemical Engineering and Prof. M. L. Joy, HOD, Mechanical Engineering presided over the opening. The conveners of ICFTES’24, Dr. Sujith Kumar C. S. welcomed the guests, Dr. Sudev Das briefed about the conference and Dr. Teja Reddy Vakamalla proposed a vote of thanks.
The ICFTES’24, sponsored by SERB-India, KSCSTE, Swagelok Bangalore, Holmarc Opto-Mechatronics Ltd., Phantom, Ametek, Laser Science, Sinetec Automation Pvt. Ltd., R&D Lab Solutions and Amity Solutions attracted researchers from various national and international universities and industry professionals. The conference, with 4 plenaries, 20 keynotes, 20 invited lectures, and over 250 papers, covered a wide range of topics such as experimental and numerical fluid flow and heat transfer, aerodynamics, energy storage, battery thermal management and combustion systems technologies. The plenary and keynote lectures were delivered by professors from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT USA), Imperial College London (UK), University of Tokyo (Japan), National Taiwan University (Taiwan), Kyushu University (Japan), University of Pretoria (South Africa), Brunel University (UK), National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University (Taiwan), Stellenbosch University (South Africa), and from India's leading universities like IIT, IISc, NIT and Industries etc. The researchers shared their latest findings, promoting knowledge exchange and collaboration among attendees.
Dr. Shivanand Veesam and Dr. Sanjeev Manjhi, the conference co-conveners, conducted the valedictory function. The delegates shared their opinions about the conference, and the best paper presenters were awarded.  The three-day conference was successfully concluded on 8th June 2024 with the vote of thanks by Dr. Vinod Kumar Sharma.