Feb 28, 2024

NITC ignites young minds with Open House on National Science Day

The National Institute of Technology Calicut opened its doors to over 2500 students from the Kozhikode district on Wednesday, 28th February on the occasion of National Science Day. Enthusiastic students from more than 50 schools flocked to the campus to experience the realm of science, technology, and innovation.

The event was organized to spark curiosity and passion for science among the youth. The initiative showcased technological advancements, innovations, and experiments conducted by students and faculty members of various departments of the Institute.

Facilitating an interactive learning experience, the visiting students interacted with experts through workshops and dedicated sessions, which enriched their understanding of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) subjects.

Alongside cutting-edge research projects and activities showcased by the institute's engineering and science departments, the Technology Business Incubator (TBI) also presented its innovations. These exhibits provided students with practical insights into how their studies can be applied in the real world.

Dr. T. P Sethumadhavan, Professor of TD University of Health Sciences and Technology, Bengaluru, and Director (R&D) Skillfavs, was the chief guest for the Open House. Prof. J Sudhakumar, Director-in-charge of NITC, inaugurated the one-day event.

Educational sessions like 'Physics Fun Science' by Mr. Muhammed Rafeek E.K. from HSSTGHSS Marayamangalam and 'Food Adulteration and Safety' by Subburaj M, Deputy Government Analyst of Food Safety Commissionerate were highly appreciated by the visiting teams. Magician Sreejith Viyyur's captivating magic show, "Magic Rainbow," entertained the students who attended the event.

Prof. M K Ravivarma, the coordinator of the event, presided over the inaugural session. Sri. EK Kutty, Former Director of ISRO; Sri K. Jayaram, former Deputy Director of ISRO; Prof A Sujith, Coordinator of the event; Dr. Kumaravel S., President of the Institution’s Innovation Council; Prof Parameswaran, HoD Chemistry; Dr. Abdunnassar UK, Principal DIET and Sri Shajil UK, teacher coordinator, also addressed the students making the event a memorable experience for all attendees









Department of Bioscience and Engineering



Department of Chemical Engineering


Department of Chemistry


Department of Computer Science & Engineering


Department of Electrical Engineering


Department of  Materials Science and Engineering


Department of Mathematics


Department of Mechanical Engineering



Department of Physics


Media Reports