Nov 30, 2023

NIT Calicut and IIST Thiruvananthapuram to collaborate in research and academic areas

Institutes ink MoU to promote cooperation

The National Institute of Technology Calicut (NITC) and Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram are all set to promote cooperation in research, academic, and other areas of mutual interest. To enhance collaboration, the two institutes have inked a Memorandum of Understanding through an online conference.

The Institutes will collaborate on joint supervision of M.Tech and Ph.D. thesis works and conducting conferences, seminars, and workshops jointly. The collaboration will encourage research in the field of space science and technology.

“The MoU will help both the institutions to exchange information on research and academic programmes,” said Prof. Prasad Krishna, Director of NIT Calicut, who signed the MoU for NITC. Efforts are essential to maximize the benefits of the MoU as it will benefit the faculty and students, he pointed out.

The decision to jointly supervise M.Tech/PhD students for their research projects will facilitate the use of laboratory facilities at both institutions by the students. Beneficiary students will be selected considering their merit in academic and research areas.

"We must focus on the proper follow-up of the MoU to joint research in related fields and research outcomes," said Dr. S Unnikrishnan Nair, Director of IIST.  The MoU will open up more and more opportunities to both institutes, he added.

According to the terms of the MoU, NITC and IIST will collaborate to conduct conferences, seminars, workshops, and other academic meetings. Besides, the Institutes will also explore the scope of collaboration in research and consultancy.

The event kicked off the activities of the Conference on Precision Engineering (COPEN) 13, scheduled to be held at NITC from December 13-15, 2024. IIST Thiruvananthapuram and IIT Palakkad will join NITC in the conduct of the event.

Prof. Jose Mathew, Chairperson, Centre for Industry - Institutional Relations (CIIR), Mr. Ravi Raghavan, Chairman, Advisory Committee of COPEN 13; Prof. V Radhakrishnan, Co-chairman, Advisory Committee of COPEN 13 and senior faculty from both the Institutes attended the MoU signing ceremony.


Media Reports