Sep 01

NITC to Celebrate Institute Foundation Day on 1st September, 2023

Embarking yet another year of academic, research and innovation, National Institute of Technology Calicut will celebrate its 63rd Institute Foundation Day on September 1, 2023 (Friday). The institute came into being as Calicut Regional Engineering College (CREC) on September 1, 1961.

Recollecting the moments of enrichment and growth the institute will honour all Directors-in-charge of NITC, Principals-in-charge of Calicut Regional Engineering College and a former Director of NITC. The guests of eminence include Prof. S Nagaraja (Principal-Charge of CREC), Prof. Nagaraj B N, Prof. E Gopinathan, Prof. T L Jose and Prof. Sandeep Sancheti (Directors-in charge of NITC), Prof. P S Sathidevi (former Director-in- charge and former Deputy Director of NITC) and Prof. M N Bandyopadhyaya (former Director of NITC).

Shri Gajjala Yoganand, Chairman, Board of Governors, NITC, will preside over the function. Dr. B. K. Das, Director General of the Electronics and Communication System, Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), will be the chief guest on the occasion. He will deliver Prof. Kesava Rao Memorial Lecture. Swami Atmapriyananda, Pro- Chancellor of Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute, is the guest of honour on the occasion. He will deliver an invited talk. NITC Director, Prof. Prasad Krishna, will present a report on the institute’s activities. Prof. Priya Chandran, Dean (Planning and Development), will welcome the gathering.


Distinguished Alumnus Award (DAA 2023)

The institute has introduced the award to recognize and celebrate the exemplary achievements of outstanding alumni, who have demonstrated sustained excellence in their careers and professions. The institute has selected eight distinguished alumni under seven different categories.

  1. Technology Innovation Excellence - A.K. Balasubrahmanian, Director (Technical) (Rtd.), The Nuclear Power Corporation of India 1982, B.Tech Mechanical Engineering 

  2. Academic Excellence -Dr.Maruthi R. Akella Cockrell Family Endowed Chair Professor, The University of Texas at Austin, 1992, B.Tech Mechanical Engineering

  3. Managerial Excellence -Venu Nair Managing Director & CEO, Shoppers Stop, 1990, B.Tech Mechanical Engineering 

  4. Excellence in Institutional Development and alma mater services – (i) Shilen Sagunan Chief Executive Officer, SS Consulting, Kochi, 1987, B.Tech Mechanical Engineering & (ii) John Joseph Managing Director, John Mech-El Technologies (P) Ltd, Mumbai, 1972 BSc. (Eng.) Mechanical Engineering 

  5. Entrepreneurial Excellence-Musthafa PC, CEO & Co-Founder, ID Fresh Food India Pvt. Ltd, 1995, B.Tech Computer Science and Engineering 

  6. Excellence in Public Services and other walks of Life - Jayadevan P Executive Director (LPG), Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. 1985, B.Tech Civil Engineering

  7. Emerging Alumni Leader Award - Nirmal N R, Chief Executive Officer, (3-Wheeler Business) Greaves Electric Mobility, 2005, B.Tech Production Engineering and Management 



An exhibition of innovations and research activities titled ‘SKYLIGHT 23’ by all 13 academic departments of NITC will be held on Foundation Day, from 2 pm to 4.30 pm. The expo will showcase the strengths, and research outputs of the departments. 

Other event highlights include felicitations of employees who have completed 25 years of service at NITC between September 2022 and August 2023. Proficiency awards to the children of employees will also be presented at the programme. The 63rd Institute Foundation Day Edition of ‘Communique’ will also be released on this occasion. The programmes will be held at the School of Management Studies. The function is being organized by the Office of the Dean of Planning and Development, NITC. 

A cultural evening, featuring showcasing the talents of NITC students, and dance and music forms from different regions in India, shall conclude the day-long festivities.


Prof. Priya Chandran, Director-in-charge and Dean (Planning and Development), NITC,Prof. Sameer S. M., Dean (Academic), NITC,Prof. Abdul Nazeer K. A., Chairman - Media Cell, NITC are  participating  in the Press Meet at  Calicut Press Club

Media Reports